Natural Stone Extensions
102 Trinity Road, Edinburgh: boasts a delightful ‘B’ listed Victorian Villa and Garden Cottage designed by the Architect James Campbell Walker in 1863 and lies in the heart of the Trinity Conservation Area to the north of Edinburgh City centre. The main house is constructed of stugged, squared and snecked Craigleith sandstone rubble with bull faced Hailes stone dressings with distinctive long and short quoins. The owners wished to add two extensions, one to the house and a separate garage and were adamant that they should be in keeping with the main house in terms of appearance. We were approached by MMA Architects to explore the possibilities of replicating the distinctive masonry style in natural stone. Sadly, the historic sources of sandstone originally used are no longer available, but good matches were made by using Stanton Moore (supplied by Stancliffe Stone) for the dressings with Cullaloe sandstone (the only sandstone quarry to be re-opened in Scotland for many years and now worked by Tradstocks, by Stirling) forming the squared snecked formal rubble walling. Our team of skilled craftsmen built the internal concrete block walls and the external stone walling to the Architects drawings and provided sample panels of both hand dressed and built stonework in advance of the main works. And, of course all the natural stone masonry work was bedded and pointed in traditional hydraulic lime mortars. Both extensions make stunning additions to the house and curtilage and most certainly add value through the attention to detail and the high quality workmanship.